Esther

I have to be honest I have never really read the book of Esther. I had a few things stick out to me so I am going to share a small recap of what I believe meant the most.

Esther was a Jewish girl who was an orphaned but back in the day family meant something. Her cousin Mordecai took her in and gave her the home she so needed. Today when children are abandoned or taken from there parents usually you see grandparents taking those children in. My opinion is what we should be doing. We hear a lot of negativity about it but Mordecai didn’t he took Esther in and knew God was in the midst no matter what.

So how does a Jewish and orphan girl become a Queen….

Well it all started Queen Vashti refused and disobey the King. As I was reading I was imaging the scenerio like this. The guys were in one area of the Castle and the girls in another area. The guys were drinking and being stupid. So the King ordered his Queen to come into the party of drunkened men and show off his Queen. The Queen wasn’t having it. She refused to  walk in there and be a physical toy for these boys. So she got banished for disobeying and refusing to come to the King. So all the men got together and couldn’t have her do that because then all the women of the land would think it’s okay to do that. So this where Esther came into the picture.

The King became lonely and his pals decided to go find him a new gal. Well, she couldn’t just be any kind of gal she had to be drop dead gorgeous! So Esther was chosen but the thing that got me was she couldn’t tell anyone that she was Jewish. She had to deny her true identity to get somewhere greater. During the next several months she was given a complete makeover so she can be presented to the King perfect and flawless.

In the meantime King Ahasuerus appointed a crooked Prime Minister Haman. They had to treat him and bow the same as they did to the King. Well, one jewish man refused to do so. It was Mordecai (Esther cousin). Haman was a man of hate. He wanted Mordecai killed. He even went to the King and offered his own money to not just kill one Jewish man but all the Jewish people!

Mordecai wasn’t going to be killed without being noticed by Esther. Esther and Mordacai exchanged some notes.

Esther 4: 13-14

This was Mordecai’s reply to Esther: “Do you think you will escape there in the palace when all other Jews are killed? If you keep quiet at a time like this God will deliver the Jews from some other source, but you and your relatives will die; what’s more, who can say but that God has brought you into the palace for just such a time as this?

I think back how many times, I went through situations or had to suffer. The famous question, came up “Why, God?” But what if all was suppose to happen exactly the way it did for a reason. God is a Sovereign! I believe full hearted that through all the trials of my life there is a reason for it all. I asked God – Why – many times in the midst of it all and I am sure I will be that annoying toddler child that ask Why.

What if we didn’t ask “Why” but take the situation at hand like Esther and turn the situation around so at the end of the day we are giving God the glory. If you continue to read, you will see Esther was given favor by God and was able to save her people. All she did was become face to face in the midst of turmoil with God Almighty.

Not everyone has the fairy tale ending like Esther but what if we just learn to accept that God is all knowing and all powerful. HE is in control of every thing. Nothing goes unnoticed.  What if we just need to learn to go with the flow and surrender our control over to Him so we can become healed from all the scars. Watch God reward, restored, and repay us for all the turmoil you’ve gone through. At the end of the day, I pray that I have become a stronger, wiser, and better women. One thing that helps me in the midst of trails is trying to remind myself that no matter what God is Sovereign! I am His child and he loves me no matter whatever I have done. Just as a parent does things for their child that they don’t understand or like; He is being a parent to us all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

